DTR | WCR007 : Ground-Fault-Interrupt Volume 1


Buy @ Beatport Buy @ Discogs Buy @ Discogs

Label : Weekend Circuit
CAT# : WCR007
Artist : Various
Title : Ground-Fault-Interrupt Volume 1
Released : 8 June 2015
Format : Digital & Vinyl

01. Coldgeist – Orion Ancestors
02. Sleeparchive – Before
03. Developer – Control Room
04. Antonio De Angelis – Polar
05. Dax J – Knights Of The Round
06. P.E.A.R.L. – Cursive
07. Alderaan – Relative Way
08. Yan Cook – Hidden

www.weekendcircuit.comFacebookTwitterSoundCloudBeatportResident Advisor

VA albums can sometimes be a hit and miss affair. Some tracks great, others not so good, and nearly always some that just aren’t your style, and this can put a bit of a dampener on your enjoyment of them. Not so with Ground-Fault-Interrupt Volume 1. This 8 tracker on the London based Weekend Circuit label features a diverse range of tracks and artists, and there’s not a single thing on it that isn’t top notch. It’s testament to label boss Michael Wells’ selecting that this is the case – the compilation covers a huge amount of ground and yet each track seduces you with its own charms. As always with an album, the music should be experienced by the listener in its entirety, but here are some things that stood out for me:

Opener “Orion Ancestors” by Coldgeist weaves a hypnotic and edgy atmosphere at a good clip, a metallic dripping sound taking centre stage at the higher, contrasting perfectly with a slowly morphing single stab lower down, and both of which are offset by an eerie, drawn out high note. Offset handclaps and a variously ticking and hissing hi-hat measure out the percussion. No breakdowns it seems, just sound building, building, building. This is a heads down, late night techno groove of the highest order.

Polar” by Antonio De Angelis marries a popping bass line with a maddening cyclic note not that always just escapes comprehension (hence the “maddening” – I found myself always hearing different nuances in it and just about grasping one when another one seemed to surface). The steady beats and chattering hats are accentuated by single bleeps, percussive accents and half heard variations in the melodies. A soft breakdown towards the end of the clip brings out the subtleties in these variations before the track drops back in.

Knights of the Round” from Dax J steps up the pace to a frantic level and piles on the intensity. Hammering kicks and pattering hi-hats never let up and the drama is brought by percussive samples and a series of gradually building synth notes in the shadowy background. Plenty of changes of emphasis every 8/16 bars keep the track moving at high speed, in a furious race to reach the next phrase. Absolute peaktime devastation.

Hidden” from Yan Cook features a beautifully realised chiming bell note at it’s heart, and this sound is expertly developed over the course of the track with harmonic notes, and subtle echo and filtering. A solid handclap line follows the regular kicks (with a cheeky little fill) and a slightly muted hat. The highlight of this track for me is the breakdown. the percussive elements gradually fade out, leaving a shining, disorientating reduction of the chiming melody to do its work on your brain – everything spins gloriously downward for a few bars before the groove re-establishes itself. Probably this is the pick of the release to my mind.

So, an absolutely essential compilation, put together by someone who clearly knows what they are doing and the direction they want to go in. A diverse collection with tracks to suit every situation, this better be part of your arsenal if you like playing modern Techno. More importantly, being Volume 1 means we can look forward to more in the future!

– Reviewed by Stuart Ingram for

WCR007 - Vinyl
WCR007 - Vinyl


CLICK HERE – AFFIN025LTD – Keith Carnal – Instantaneously (incl. Subjected Remix)
CLICK HERE – SOMA426 – Woo York – Blade Runner (incl. Zadig Remix)
CLICK HERE – WTZ002 – Menno Cirk – Sector Two (incl. MM:MS Remixes)
CLICK HERE – RS1503 – Lakker – Tundra (incl. Q&A)
CLICK HERE – EDR007 – NoizyKnobs – Dissolve (incl. JoeFarr & The Fourth Alarm Remixes)
CLICK HERE – POLEGROUP31 – Oscar Mulero – Muscle And Mind
CLICK HERE – RLPS001LP – Relapso – States Evolution
CLICK HERE – EDR006 – Complicit – Drome (incl. Annie Hall & Plane Shifter Remixes)
CLICK HERE – MISTRESS05.3 – The Redhead
CLICK HERE – CRG001 – Cleric – Codes of Chaos EP
CLICK HERE – TRP001 – The Deviant Octopus
CLICK HERE – AFK013 – Uncode – Cmtrn EP
CLICK HERE – AD023 – Rommek – 1 View, 100 Versions
CLICK HERE – DEADCERT014 – Bruno Ledesma / Ledd – New Routes of Thought (incl. Subfractal Remix)
CLICK HERE – EDR004 – Uun – Chaos Element (incl. DJ ESP Woody McBride & James Kelley Remixes)
CLICK HERE – TOKEN48 – Aphelion
CLICK HERE – DEADCERT013 – Alessan Main – Global Position (incl. Mick Finesse Remix)
CLICK HERE – EDR003 – JGarrett – Monochrome Pusher EP (incl. Luis Flores & Jay Zoney Remixes)

Comments are closed.